Vegan wine

Vegan wine certainly seems like the most natural wine available. Festival Wines is delighted that many of its wines are vegan wines.

As described on the page of vegetarian wines there are many ingredients used to make non-vegetarian wine in the fining process to avoid. Fining is a clarification process to make a wine bright and clear in appearance. Gravity can do this however fining can speed up the process. Fining agents to particularly watch for include:

Gelatin – made from boiled up animal bones and mainly used in red wines.

Isinglass – A protein obtained from the bladders of various unfortunate fish; used in both red and white wines.

Albumin – Used to remove harsh tannins in red wines. Egg whites are the normal source although please bear in mind that if your wine smells of egg it is likely to be over sulphured. (See low sulphur wines).

Casein – The principal protein of milk, often used in white wines to remove off colours.

Chitosan – From the shells of shellfish and crustaceans.

None of the above products are used when making vegan wine. Some people might think vegan products to be obscure or difficult to obtain; when it comes to wine though this should not be the case: the purest wine is vegan wine.

Organic winesBio-dynamic winesLow sulphur winesVegetarian wines

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-29913502-1']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();